2015-2016

Academic Calendar 2015 - 2016


Autumn Term 2015September 2 – December 21
Date Day of the Week Deadline Add to Google Calendar
April 27 Monday Registration for Summer Term 2015 and Autumn Term 2015 for continuing students via web registration begins.
May 18 Monday Registration for Summer Term 2015 and Autumn Term 2015 begins for new students.
August 26 Wednesday Beginning of occupancy in Teachers College residence halls for new students attending the Autumn Term.
August 31 Monday New student orientation program for students in Arts & Humanities; Curriculum & Teaching; Education Policy & Social Analysis; International & Transcultural Studies; and Mathematics, Science, & Technology.
September 1 Tuesday New student orientation program for students in Biobehavioral Sciences, Counseling & Clinical Psychology, Health & Behavior Studies, Human Development, and Organization & Leadership.
September 1 Tuesday In-person registration for Autumn Term. Hours: 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. Advisors available from 2 p.m. to 7 p.m.
September 1 Tuesday Confirmation of master's degree integrative project completion due to Registrar's Office for October degree candidates.
September 2 Wednesday Classes begin. Autumn Term 2015
September 2 Wednesday Registration and add/drop period. Hours: 9:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Wednesday and Thursday; 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Friday. Advisors and/or their representatives available from 3 to 5 p.m.
September 3 Thursday Last day to file application for Doctoral Certification Examination (Ed.D./Ph.D.) to be given October 16 and October 23.
September 3 Thursday Registration and add/drop period. Hours: 9:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Wednesday and Thursday; 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Friday. Advisors and/or their representatives available from 3 to 5 p.m.
September 4 Friday Registration and add/drop period. Hours: 9:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Wednesday and Thursday; 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Friday. Advisors and/or their representatives available from 3 to 5 p.m.
September 4 Friday Fall semester payment due date for tuition, fees, and housing charges.
September 7 Monday Labor Day. University holiday. No classes. No offices open.
September 10 Thursday Last day to file notification of intention to defend Ed.D. and Ph.D. dissertations during the Autumn Term 2015.
September 11 Friday Last day to file Master's essays for the October degree award.
September 16 Wednesday Last day to add and drop courses for the Autumn term, file a Certificate of Equivalency, and enroll in, upgrade, or submit a waiver request for the Columbia Health Fee and Columbia Student Health Insurance.
September 17 Thursday Requests for late registration under exceptional circumstances on or after this date require Registrar's approval and payment of $100 late registration fee.
September 28 Monday Last day to make final deposit of corrected Ed.D. dissertations and abstracts for October award of degree.
September 29 Tuesday Last day to change points in variable point courses.
October 9 Friday Last day to complete the final deposit of the Ph.D. dissertation with the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences for the October award of the degree.
October 15 Thursday Midterm date, Autumn Term.
October 16 Friday Doctoral Certification Examination (Ed.D./Ph.D.) for students not majoring in an area of psychology, 9 a.m. to 12 noon and 1:45 to 4:45 p.m.
October 21 Wednesday Award of October degrees and certificates. No ceremony.
October 23 Friday Doctoral Certification Examination (Ed.D./Ph.D.) for students majoring in an area of psychology, 9 a.m. to 12 noon and 1:45 to 4:45 p.m.
November 2 Monday Last day to file or to renew an application for Master's degrees and certificates to be awarded in February. (After this date, application may be filed only until November 16 upon payment of $25 late fee.)
November 25 Wednesday No classes. Offices open.
November 26 Thursday Thanksgiving holidays. No classes. No offices open.
November 27 Friday Thanksgiving holidays. No classes. No offices open.
December 21 Monday Autumn Term 2015 ends.
December 22 Tuesday Termination of occupancy in Teachers College residence halls for Autumn Term students not returning for Spring Term 2016.
Spring Term 2016January 20 – May 10
Date Day of the Week Deadline Add to Google Calendar
December 7 Monday Registration for the Spring Term for continuing students via web registration begins.
January 4 Monday Confirmation of master's degree integrative project completion due to Registrar's Office for February degree candidates.
January 11 Monday Last day to file Master's essays for the February degree award.
January 17 Sunday Beginning of occupancy in the Teachers College residence halls for the Spring Term.
January 18 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Observed. University holiday. No classes. No offices open.
January 19 Tuesday In-person registration for Spring Term 2016.  Hours: 10:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. Advisors available from 2:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.
January 19 Tuesday New student orientation program.
January 20 Wednesday Classes begin. Spring Term 2016.
January 20 Wednesday Late registration and change period. Hours: Wednesday - Thursday 9:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.; Friday 9:30 a.m. to 5:00p.m. Advisors available from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m.
January 21 Thursday Late registration and change period. Hours: Wednesday - Thursday 9:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.; Friday 9:30 a.m. to 5:00p.m. Advisors available from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m.
January 21 Thursday Last day to file application for Doctoral Certification Examination (Ed.D./Ph.D.) to be given February 12 and February 19.
January 22 Friday Late registration and change period. Hours: Wednesday - Thursday 9:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.; Friday 9:30 a.m. to 5:00p.m. Advisors available from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m.
January 22 Friday Spring semester payment due date for tuition, fees, and housing charges.
January 28 Thursday Last day to file notification of intention to defend Ph.D. and Ed.D. dissertation during Spring Term.
January 29 Friday Last day to make final deposit of corrected Ed.D. dissertations and abstracts for February award of degree.
February 1 Monday Last day to file or to renew an application for Master's degrees and certificates to be awarded in May. (After this date, application may be filed only until February 15 upon payment of $25 late fee.)
February 2 Tuesday Last day to add and drop courses for Spring Term, file a Certificate of Equivalency, and, for new spring students only, to enroll in, upgrade, and waive the Columbia Health Fee and Columbia Student Health Insurance.
February 3 Wednesday Requests for late registration on or after this date require registrar's approval and payment of $100 late registration fee.
February 5 Friday Last day to complete the final deposit of the Ph.D. dissertation with the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences for the award of the February degree.
February 10 Wednesday Award of February degrees and certificates. No ceremony.
February 12 Friday Doctoral Certification Examination (Ed.D./Ph.D.) for students not majoring in an area of psychology, 9 a.m. to 12 noon and 1:45 to 4:45 p.m.
February 15 Monday Last day to enroll in, upgrade, or submit a waiver request for the Columbia Health Fee and Columbia Student Health Insurance.
February 16 Tuesday Last day to change points in variable-point courses.
February 19 Friday Doctoral Certification Examination (Ed.D./Ph.D.) for students majoring in an area of psychology, 9 a.m. to 12 noon and 1:45 to 4:45 p.m.
March 3 Thursday Midterm date, Spring Term.
March 13 Sunday First day of spring holidays.
March 18 Friday No offices open.
March 20 Sunday Last day of spring holidays.
April 1 Friday Last day to file Master's essays for the May degree award.
April 25 Monday Last day to hold the dissertation defense (Ed.D./Ph.D.) for the May award of the degree.
April 29 Friday Last day to make first deposit of corrected Ed.D. dissertations and abstracts for May award of degree.
May 2 Monday Confirmation of master's degree integrative project completion due to Registrar's Office for May degree candidates.
May 6 Friday Last day to complete the final deposit of the Ph.D. dissertation with the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences for the award of the May degree. (Deposit must be completed by 4:00 p.m.)
May 10 Tuesday End of Spring Term 2016.
May 11 Wednesday Termination of occupancy in Teachers College residence halls for Spring Term for students not remaining for Summer Session A. Extensions granted for students participating in Commencement.
May 16 Monday Teachers College Master’s degree Convocations.
May 17 Tuesday Teachers College Master’s degree Convocations.
May 18 Wednesday Conferring of degrees at Columbia University 10:30 a.m.; Teachers College Doctoral degree Convocation,  2:00 p.m.
May 20 Friday Termination of occupancy in Teachers College residence halls for Spring Term for students not remaining for Summer Session A and who are participating in Commencement.
Summer Term 2016May 19 – August 16
Date Day of the Week Deadline Add to Google Calendar
April 25 Monday Registration for Summer Term 2016 and Autumn Term 2016 for continuing students via web registration begins.
May 2 Monday Registration for Summer 2016 and Autumn Term 2016 begins for new students.
May 16 Monday Beginning of occupancy in Teachers College residence halls for Summer Session A. Move-in times: 8 A.M. to 10 A.M.
May 19 Thursday Session A courses begin.
May 19 Thursday Session A courses begin.
May 20 Friday Summer A payment due date for tuition, fees, and housing charges.
May 24 Tuesday Late registration and changes in registration for Session A (changes in Session B courses are also accepted). Hours: 10 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. advisors and/or their representatives available from 3 to 5 p.m.
May 25 Wednesday Late registration and changes in registration for Session A (changes in Session B courses are also accepted). Hours: 10 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. advisors and/or their representatives available from 3 to 5 p.m.
May 25 Wednesday Last day to add or drop Session A courses.
May 27 Friday Last day to file application for Doctoral Certification Examination (Ed.D./Ph.D.), to be given June 17.
May 30 Monday Memorial Day Observed. University holiday. No classes. No offices open.
June 8 Wednesday Last day to add/drop points in Summer A and full summer variable-point courses.
June 17 Friday Doctoral Certification Examination (Ed.D./Ph.D.), 9 a.m.. to 12 Noon and 1:45 p.m. to 4:45 p.m.
June 29 Wednesday End of Summer Session A courses.
June 30 Thursday Termination of occupancy in Teachers College residence halls for students not remaining for Summer Session B.
July 4 Monday Independence Day observed. University holiday. No classes. No offices open.
July 5 Tuesday In-person registration for Session B courses. Hours: 12 noon to 6 p.m.
July 5 Tuesday Beginning of occupancy in Teachers College residence halls for Summer Session B. Move-in times: 8 A.M. to 10 A.M.
July 6 Wednesday Session B courses begin.
July 6 Wednesday Late registration and changes in registration for Session B courses. Hours: 10 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. Advisors and/or their representatives available from 3 to 5 p.m.
July 7 Thursday Late registration and changes in registration for Session B courses. Hours: 10 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. Advisors and/or their representatives available from 3 to 5 p.m.
July 8 Friday Summer B payment due date for tuition, fees, and housing charges.
July 12 Tuesday Last day to add or drop Session B courses.
July 19 Tuesday Last day to add/drop points in Summer B variable-point courses.
August 1 Monday Last day to file or to renew an application for Master's degrees and certificates to be awarded in October. (After this date, application may be filed only until August 17 upon payment of a $25 late fee.)
August 16 Tuesday End of Summer Session B courses.
August 17 Wednesday Termination of occupancy in Teachers College residence halls for students not remaining for the Autumn Term.
Back to skip to quick links